Heather

;

Proposed themes:

  • Architecture
  • English heritage
  • History and heritage
  • Murals
  • Tours of the city

Languages spoken: English, French

I was born and grew up in Montreal, but have lived in the Eastern Townships for almost 50 years. I became a permanent resident of Sherbrooke about 10 years ago, and live in the Old North Ward, which allows me to admire the architecture of this beautiful neighbourhood by foot. I like helping my friends and family discover the murals, which tell a part of our Sherbrooke history, and above all admire the work of the muralists in creating these works of art.

In 1867, Canada became a country, and more than half the population of Sherbrooke spoke English. Through our tour, I can talk about this Anglophone heritage. The city’s toponymy honors many of the city’s pioneers. If you take a closer look at the road signs (much easier by foot), you’ll note that the small print on them allows you to learn about the origins of the street name.

In 2013, the city of Sherbrooke hosted the Canada Summer Games, and I was one of the thousands of volunteers who welcomed the young athletes and their families. I look forward to sharing my favorite parts of the city with visitors from across Quebec, Canada and from around the world.


BOOK YOUR GREETER

Heather

;
Heather

Thèmes proposés :

  • Architecture
  • Balade en ville
  • Histoire et patrimoine
  • Murales de Sherbrooke

Langues parlées : Anglais, Français

Je suis née et j’ai grandi à Montréal, mais je vis dans les Cantons-de-l’Est depuis presque 50 ans.  Je suis devenue une résidente permanente de Sherbrooke, il y a déjà plus de 10 ans et je me suis établie dans le secteur Vieux-Nord ce qui me permet d’admirer à pied l’architecture de ce beau quartier. J’aime faire découvrir à ma famille et à mes amis les murales qui relatent une partie de notre histoire sherbrookoise et surtout admirer tout le travail effectué par les muralistes pour créer ces œuvres.

En 1867, le Canada est devenu un pays et plus de la moitié de la population de Sherbrooke parlait l’anglais. Au cours de la balade, j’échangerai avec vous sur cet héritage anglophone. La toponymie dans la ville honore plusieurs pionniers. Si vous regardez de plus près les enseignes des rues (plus facile à pied) observez la partie inférieure de celles-ci ce qui vous permettra de connaître l’origine du nom de la rue.

En 2013, la ville de Sherbrooke fut l’hôte des Jeux du Canada d’été et j’étais parmi les milliers de bénévoles accueillant les jeunes athlètes et leurs familles. Je suis enthousiaste à l’idée de partager avec d’autres visiteurs mes coins préférés de ma ville.

 

BoutonFormulaire_FR