Claudette B.

;

Proposed themes:

  • Green spaces
  • History and heritage
  • Murals
  • Tours of the city

Language spoken: French

I have lived in Sherbrooke for the past 40 years. It’s a great city to discover, with its two universities, sports and cultural infrastructure, and some of its great visual aspects. Of course, its green spaces, parks and its two rivers that meet downtown give it a great natural setting.

I suggest that we discover parts of it by foot. We can start with the paths along the Magog River running to the hydro dam. From there, we can admire several murals in the area, as well as City Hall, the Museum of Nature and Science, the Société d’Histoire, the Museum of Fine Arts and the majestic cathedral.

Whatever the season, there are many other possibilities. We can explore the Beckett Wood, which is an old urban forest with its own family history, fauna and flora, with more than 6 km of paths.

The Réal D. Carbonneau Marsh stands out for its wood walkways, its aquatic plants and the many types of birds that call it home.

From the top of Mont Bellevue, we can enjoy the view of part of the city. Or why not visit the Beauvoir Sanctuary, a great place to contemplate with its open-air chapel. In August you can have fun counting the Perseids there.

We could also explore the Domaine Howard, with its buildings, gardens, mosaiculture and its pond (where you can go fishing from time to time). For those who like meditating, it’s a great spot.

I have travelled to several similar sized European and American cities, and find that Sherbrooke offers similar quality architectural and heritage sites, arts and culture events, and a similar lifestyle. This is why for me, Sherbrooke is the best place to live. Sherbrooke, much more than just a city, it’s a great place to visit or live!


BOOK YOUR GREETER

Claudette B.

;
Claudette B.

Thèmes proposés : 

  • Balade en ville
  • Espaces verts
  • Histoire et patrimoine
  • Murales de Sherbrooke

Langue parlée : Français

J’habite Sherbrooke depuis 40 ans. C’est une ville à découvrir avec ses deux universités, ses centres sportifs et culturels sans oublier le côté visuel. Évidemment ses espaces verts, ses parcs, ses deux rivières qui se croisent donnent de l’oxygène à l’environnement.

Je vous propose d’en découvrir une partie en marchant. Débutons le long des sentiers de la rivière Magog jusqu’à sa centrale hydroélectrique. De là,  admirons plusieurs murales de ce secteur  ainsi que l’Hôtel de Ville, le musée de la Nature et des Sciences, la Société d’Histoire, le musée des Beaux- Arts  et la majestueuse cathédrale.

En toute saison, d’autres possibilités  s’offrent, à  vous de découvrir ensemble le boisé Beckett. Une forêt ancienne et urbaine avec  son histoire familiale,  sa faune et sa flore sur plus de 6 km de sentier.

Le Marais Réal D. Carbonneau  se démarque par ses passerelles de bois, ses plantes aquatiques et ses oiseaux qui l’habitent.

Du haut du mont Bellevue, contempler une partie de la ville. De même qu’à partir du Sanctuaire de Beauvoir, vous trouverez un lieu de contemplation avec sa chapelle en plein air. En août amusez- vous à compter les perséides.

Découvrez le  Domaine Howard, ses bâtiments, son jardin, ses mosaïcultures, son étang où il est permis de pêcher à l’occasion, et de méditer pour ceux qui le désirent.

J’ai voyagé  dans plusieurs villes européennes ou américaines  comparables parfois pour son architecture, son patrimoine, ses arts, sa politique, son mode de vie… c’est pourquoi  Sherbrooke est mon idéal. Sherbrooke « Plus qu’une ville » où il fait bon visiter ou y vivre.

 

BoutonFormulaire_FR